Day 20. Burgos to Burgos

My first rest day starts very cool. I’ve been aware that it might rain today so I break out the jacket and rain over. We are bundled out by the hospitaliero on the dot and I go over the road and order a coffee and banana and chat with Tom and Lucy. I’m glad I have my jacket on as it’s pretty cold.
Eventually the party breaks up and I wander off to check out the Burgos Cathedral. The ticket office opens at 9.30 and I line up, pay my 3.50 Euro for a pilgrim pass and head on in.
I have an English audio guide a bit like a phone handset and proceed on the tour.
The cathedral is beyond words and I proceed through all the chapels and into the central nave. The cupola is a light filled staggering piece of architecture and it’s not hard to see why this is one if Spain’s prime attractions.
After 2 hours I emerge and head off to find the train station. I follow my map but the station is abandoned and there are no tracks.
Second stop is the bus interchange which is open. I ask for a ticket to Leon but it’s all booked so 10.30 am Monday is booked and I pay and then check out where the bus pulls up.
Inside I call Ali as it’s just after midday and then call mum to tell her about my cathedral visit which she has also seen.
I head off to find another Albergue as you can only have one night in each. On the way I come across a car exposition and there’s a nicely turned out BMW 2002 which I snap. The other Albergue is already booked out so I book a room at the Hotel Meson El Cid for 65 euro and spend the afternoon veging out for the first time in nearly 3 weeks.
It’s a big room with two beds and the bathroom is very generous with a bath and lots of marble.
It’s a good time to charge everything and watch tele. There are a few English channels like BBC world news.
I will head back to the bar I ate at last night and sample more of the menu although I’m not that hungry.
Well it turns out that place is shut so it’s the Bonfin in the square for Paella, steak and flan.
An obvious pilgrim turns up at the next table so I say hi. He’s from Switzerland.
I’ll post now while I have wifi.
It was nice having a rest day and I’m looking forward to tourist’ing in Leon tomorrow too!
Buen Camino.

IMG_0288-0.JPG

IMG_0287-0.JPG

IMG_0285-0.JPG

IMG_0289-0.JPG

Leave a Reply

